Optune AR

Optune by Novocure is a new, innovative method for the treatment of brain tumors. The non-invasive procedure differs fundamentally from known forms of treatment such as radiation or chemotherapy. Specific properties of electrical fields are leveraged to influence the growth of tumor cells.

Yoram Palti, the founder of Novocure and inventor of the process, once said in the early stages of development: “Nobody understands what I’m doing here.”

To make the treatment with tumor treating fields easier for doctors and patients to understand, Frame Factory on behalf of Pengland/Novocure developed an augmented reality application. Electric fields have a three-dimensional effect, deep inside the brain. A 3-D display allowing the viewer to move freely has many advantages over 2D visualization.

A virtual model is placed in the room using a tablet or smartphone. All explanations can be experienced directly on the model. The user is able to move freely around the model and to inspect the virtual model from all sides.

Skills and Technologies

  • Modeling and animation with Cinema 4D
  • Augmented Reality programming with Unity
  • Mobile application development for Apple iPhones/iPads with XCode

Optune AR

Optune von Novocure ist eine neue, innovative Methode zur Behandlung von Hirntumoren. Das nichtinvasive Verfahren unterscheidet sich grundlegend von bekannten Behandlungsformen wie Bestrahlung oder Chemotherapie. Es nutzt die spezifischen Eigenschaften elektrischer Felder, um das Wachstum von Tumorzellen zu beeinflussen.

Yoram Palti, der Gründer von Novocure und Erfinder des Verfahrens sagte einmal in der Anfangsphase der Entwicklung: “Niemand versteht, was ich hier tue.”

Um die Behandlung mit Tumor Treating Fields für Aerzte und Patienten besser verständlich zu machen, entwickelte Frame Factory im Auftrag von Pengland/Novocure eine Augmented Reality Applikation. Elektrische Felder wirken dreidimensional, tief im innern des Gehirns. Eine 3D Darstellung, die es dem Betrachter erlaubt, sich frei zu bewegen, hat gegenüber einer 2D Visualisierung viele Vorteile.

Via Tablet oder Smartphone wird ein virtuelles Modell im Raum platziert. Alle Erklärungen können direkt an dem Modell erlebt werden. Der Anwender bewegt sich frei um das Modell und kann die Vorgänge von allen Seiten betrachten.

Skills und Technologien

  • Modellierung und Animation mit Cinema 4D
  • Augmented Reality Programmierung mit Unity
  • Entwicklung Mobile App für Apple iPhones/iPads mit XCode